Subscribe to news email updates.
Health Tip: Avoiding Gluten
(HealthDay News) -- People with celiac disease should avoid eating gluten, a protein found in most grains, especially wheat.
The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics makes these suggestions for avoiding gluten:
- Always read food labels. Look for gluten-free foods that are fortified with iron and folate.
- Opt for whole grains that are naturally gluten free, such as buckwheat, quinoa, teff, millet, corn, flax and amaranth.
- Carefully read restaurant menus and ask questions about ingredients.
Copyright © 2012 HealthDay. All rights reserved.
HealthDay news articles are derived from various sources and do not reflect federal policy. Womenshealth.gov does not endorse opinions, products, or services that may appear in news stories.
A federal government website managed by the Office on Women's Health in the Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
200 Independence Avenue, S.W. • Washington, DC 20201