A project of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Office on Women's Health

Skip Navigation

Womens Health logo

About Us

divider line

HHS Steering Committee on Violence Against Women

The DHHS Violence Against Women Act (VAWA) steering committee is chaired by the Office on Women's Health (OWH). The VAWA committee has the responsibility for coordinating the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) response to issues related to violence against women and their children, and also coordinates DHHS violence related activities with those of other Federal agencies. The members of the committee establish links with professional societies in the health and social service fields to increase attention to women's health and violence issues. The members of the committee also serve as resource experts for the National Advisory Committee on VAW, which is chaired by the HHS Secretary and the DOJ Attorney General.

Committee Chair

Frances Ashe-Goins, R.N., M.P.H.
Deputy Director
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Office on Women's Health
200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 728-E
Hubert Humphrey Building
Washington, DC 20201
Phone: (202) 690-6373
Fax: (202) 401-4005
Email: frances.ashe-goins@hhs.gov

Committee Co-Chair

Marylouise Kelley, Ph.D.
Director
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Administration for Children and Families (ACF)
Family Violence Prevention & Services Program
Family and Youth Services Bureau
1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Suite 8216
Washington, DC 20024
Phone: (202) 401-5756
Fax: (202) 205-3598
E-mail: marylouise.kelley@acf.hhs.gov

Return to top

Administration on Aging (AoA)

One Massachusetts Avenue, N.W.
Washington, DC 20001

Kathy Greenlee
U.S. Assistant Secretary for Aging
Phone: (202) 357-3519
Fax: (202) 357-3549
E-mail: kathy.greenlee@aoa.hhs.gov

Stephanie Whittier Eliason
Elder Rights Team Lead
Phone: (202) 401-4634
Fax: (202) 357-3549
E-mail: stephanie.whittier@aoa.hhs.gov

Administration for Children and Families (ACF)

Family Violence Prevention & Services Program
Family and Youth Services Bureau
1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., 8th Floor
Washington, DC 20024

Shawndell Dawson
Family Violence Program Specialist
Suite 8215
Phone: (202) 205-1476
Fax: (202) 401-7038
E-mail: shawndell.dawson@acf.hhs.gov

Edna W. James, L.S.W., M.S.W., D.C.S.W.
Family Violence Program Specialist
Suite 8214
Phone: (202) 205-7750
Fax: (202) 401-7038
E-mail: edna.james@acf.hhs.gov

Kenneth E. Noyes, Esq.
Family Violence Program Specialist
Suite 8221
Phone: (202) 205-7891
Fax: (202) 401-7038
E-mail: kenneth.noyes@acf.hhs.gov

Rebecca K. Odor, M.S.W.
Family Violence Program Specialist
Suite 8219
Phone: (202) 205-7746
Fax: (202) 401-7038
E-mail: rebbecca.odor@acf.hhs.gov

Allison Randall
Family Violence Program Specialist
Phone: (202) 616-5342
E-mail: Allison.randall@gsd.doj.gov, Allison.randall@acf.hhs.gov

Shena Williams
Family Violence Program Specialist
Suite 8213
Phone: (202) 205-5932
Fax: (202) 401-7038
E-mail: shena.williams@acf.hhs.gov

Regional Office

Janice M. Holt, M.A.P.
Immediate Office of the Regional Administration Region 10
2201 Sixth Avenue, Suite 300
Seattle, WA 88121
Phone: (206) 615-2552
Fax: (206) 615-2575
E-mail: Janice.holt@acf.hhs.gov
Website: www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/region10

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Division of Violence Prevention
4770 Buford Highway NE, MS F-64
Atlanta, GA 30341

Sara Harrier, MSW
Public Health Analyst
Division of Violence Prevention
Phone: (770) 488-3897
Fax: (770) 488-4349
E-mail: sharrier@cdc.gov

Kirsten Rambo, Ph.D.
Health Scientist/Project Officer
Phone: (770) 488-0544
Fax: (770) 488-4222
E-mail: krambo@cdc.gov

Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)

5600 Fishers Lane
Room 18-46
Rockville, MD 20857

LCDR Tarsha Cavanaugh, Ph.D., M.S.W., LGSW
Public Health Analyst
Phone: (301) 443-0701
Fax: (301) 443-8587
E-mail: tcavanaugh@hrsa.gov

Sabrina Matoff-Stepp, Ph.D.
Director
Phone: (301) 443-8664
Fax: (301) 443-8587
E-mail: smatoff-stepp@hrsa.gov

LCDR Morrisa B. Rice, M.H.A., R.E.H.S., R.S.
Senior Public Health Analyst
Phone: (301) 443-6838
Fax: (301) 443-8587
E-mail: mrice@hrsa.gov

Indian Health Service (IHS)

M. Carolyn Aoyama, C.N.M., M.P.H.
Senior Consultant for Women's Health
801 Thompson Avenue
Rockville, MD 20852
Phone: (301) 443-1492
E-mail: carolyn.aoyama@ihs.gov

National Institutes of Health (NIH)

Lisa Begg, Dr.P.H., R.N.
Director of Research Programs Office of Research on Women's Health
National Institutes of Health
6707 Democracy Boulevard, Suite 400
Bethesda, MD 20892-5484
Phone: (301) 496-7853
Fax: (301) 402-1798
E-mail: beggl@nih.gov

Samia Noursi, Ph.D.
Deputy Coordinator Women and Sex/Gender Differences Research
National Institute on Drug Abuse
National Institute of Health
6001 Executive Boulevard, Room 4259
Bethesda, MD 20892-9659
Phone: (301) 594-5622
Fax: (301) 594-6043
E-mail: snoursi@mail.nih.gov

Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation (ASPE)

200 Independence Avenue, S.W.
Hubert Humphrey Building
Washington, D.C. 20201

Kristen Joyce
Social Science Analyst
Room 426-F-7
Phone: (202) 690-5739
Fax: (202) 690-6562
E-mail: Kristen.joyce@hhs.gov

Gretchen Lehman
Social Science Analyst Office of Human Services Policy
Room 426F.3A
Phone: (202) 401-6614
Fax: (202) 690-6562
E-mail: getchen.lehman@hhs.gov

Office of the Assistant Secretary for Legislation (ASL)

200 Independence Avenue, S.W.,
Hubert Humphrey Building
Washington, D.C. 20201

Barbara Pisaro Clark
Deputy Director
Human Services Legislation
Room 411H
Phone: (202) 690-6311
Fax: (202) 690-5750
E-mail: Barbara.clark@hhs.gov

Douglas Steiger
Deputy Assistant Secretary for Legislation
Room 406G
Phone: (202) 690-7627
Fax: (202) 690-7380
E-mail: douglas.steiger@hhs.gov

Office of Adolescent Health

1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 700
Rockville, MD 20852

Evelyn Kappeler
Acting Director
Phone: (240) 453-2837
Fax: (240) 453-2801
E-mail: evelyn.kappler@hhs.gov

Aisha Hasan
Program Analyst
Phone: (240) 453-8133
Fax: (240) 453-2801

Office of Disability

Rosaly Correa-de-Araujo, M.D., M.S.c., Ph.D.
Deputy Director 200 Independence Avenue, S.W.
Hubert Humphrey Building
Washington, D.C. 20201
Phone: (202) 205-1104
Fax: (202) 260-3053
E-mail: rosaly.correa@hhs.gov

Office of HIV/AIDS Policy

Vera Yakovchenko, M.P.H.
Public Health Analyst
200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 443H
Hubert Humphrey Building
Washington, DC 20201
Phone: (202) 205-6606
E-mail: vera.yakovchenko@hhs.gov

Office of Minority Health (OMH)

1101 Wootton Parkway
Tower Building, Suite 600
Rockville, MD 20852

J. Nadine Gracia, M.D., M.S.C.E.
Deputy Assistant Secretary for Minority Health (Acting)
Phone: (240) 453-2882
Fax: (240) 453-2883
E-mail: nadine.gracia@hhs.gov
Website: www.minoirtyhealth.hhs.gov

Maaden F. Eshete, M.P.H.
Public Health Analyst
Phone: (240) 453-6907
Fax: (240) 453-8445
E-mail: maaden.eshete@hhs.gov

Office of Population Affairs (OPA)

1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 700
Rockville, MD 20852

Christine Brazell, M.S., M.P.H.
Public Health Advisor
Office of Family Planning
Phone: (240) 453-2840
Fax: (240) 453-2889
E-mail: christine.brazell@hhs.gov

Susan B. Moskosky, M.S., R.N.C.
Deputy Director
Phone: (240) 453-2818
Fax: (240) 453-2889
E-mail: susan.moskosky@hhs.gov

Office of the Surgeon General

1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 100, Plaza Level
Rockville, MD 20852

RADM Denise S. Canton, Ph.D., J.D., R.N.
Director, Office of Commissioned Corps Force Management
Phone: (240) 453-6161
E-mail: Denise.canton@hhs.gov

LCDR Tracy R. Powell, Ph.D.
Program Analyst
Phone: (240) 453-6183
E-mail: Tracy.powell@hhs.gov

Office on Women's Health (OWH)

200 Independence Ave., S.W., Room 712E
Hubert Humphrey Building
Washington, DC 20201

Kaye Hayes, M.P.A.
Senior Advisor for Policy
Room 712E
Phone: (202) 205-2003
Fax: (202) 402-4005
E-mail: kaye.hayes@hhs.gov

Loretta F. Jones
Assistant to the Deputy Director
Room 728-E
Phone: (202) 401-9583
Fax: (202) 401-4005
E-mail: loretta.jones@hhs.gov

Aleisha Langhorne M.P.H., M.H.S.A.
Health Scientist
Room 733E
Phone: (202) 205-0270
Fax: (202) 690-7172
E-mail: aleisha.langhorne@hhs.gov

Nancy C. Lee, M.D.
Deputy Assistant Secretary for Health (Women's Health)
Room 712E
Phone: (202) 690-7650
Fax: (202) 401-0005
E-mail: nancy.lee@hhs.gov

Henrietta L. Terry, M.S.
Public Health Advisor
Room 733E
Phone: (202) 205-1952
Fax: (202) 690-7172
E-mail: henrietta.terry@hhs.gov

Mary E. Worstell, M.P.H.
Senior Advisor
Room 712E
Phone: (202) 690-7761
E-mail: mary.worstell2@cms.hhs.gov

 

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)

Susan E. Salasin
Director of Trauma and Trauma Informed
Care Program, Center for Mental Health Services, (SAMHSA)
1 Choke Cherry Road, Room 6-1021
Rockville, MD 20857
Phone: (240) 276-1908
Fax: (240) 276-1970
E-mail: susan.salasin@samhsa.hhs.gov

Content last updated: March 27, 2012.

Return to top