A project of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Office on Women's Health

Skip Navigation

Womens Health logo
About Us
divider line

HHS Coordinating Committee on Women's Health

The HHS Coordinating Committee on Women's Health (CCWH) was established in 1984 to advise the Assistant Secretary for Health (and, in 1993, the Deputy Assistant Secretary for Health – Women's Health) on current and planned activities across HHS that would safeguard and improve the physical and mental health of all women in the United States. The coordinating committee is chaired by Nancy C. Lee, Deputy Assistant Secretary of Health – Women's Health and the Director of the Office on Women's Health. The committee's members include senior-level representatives from each of the federal agencies and offices within the Department of Health and Human Services.

Committee Chair

Nancy C. Lee, M.D.
Deputy Assistant Secretary for Women's Health
Director, Office on Women's Health
200 Independence Avenue, SW, Room 712-E
Hubert Humphrey Building
Washington, DC 20201
Phone: 202-690-7650
Fax: 202-401-4005
Email: WomensHealth@hhs.gov

Return to top

Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health (ASH)

Office of Adolescent Health (OAH)

Evelyn Kappeler
Director
1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 700
Tower Oaks Building
Rockville, MD 20852
Phone: 240-453-2837
Main Phone: 240-453-2806
Fax: 240-453-2801
Email: Evelyn.Kappeler@hhs.gov

Wilma Robinson
Deputy Director
1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 700
Tower Oaks Building
Rockville, MD 20852
Phone: 240-276810
Fax: 240-453-2802
Email: Wilma.Robinson@hhs.gov

Alternate:
Tish Hall
Public Health Advisor/Project Officer
Division of Program Implementation
1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 700
Tower Oaks Building
Rockville, MD 20852
Phone: 240-453-8224
Fax: 240-453-2801
Email: Tish.Hall@hhs.gov

Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (ODPHP)

Emmeline Ochiai
Health Advisor
1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL-100
Tower Oaks Building
Rockville, MD 20852
Phone: 240-453-8259
Main Phone: 240-453-8280
Fax: 240-453-8281
Email: Emmeline.Ochiai@hhs.gov

Allison Roper, LICSW
Public Health Advisor
1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL-100
Tower Oaks Building
Rockville, MD 20852
Phone: 240-453-8263
Fax: 240-453-8282
Email: Allison.Roper@hhs.gov

Office of HIV/AIDS and Infectious Disease Policy (OHAIDP)

Vera Yakovchenko
Public Health Analyst
200 Independence Avenue, SW, Room 443-H
Hubert Humphrey Building
Washington, DC 20201
Phone: 202-205-6606
Fax: 202-690-7560
Email: vera.yakovchenko@hhs.gov

Office of Minority Health (OMH)

Nicole Dickelson
Special Advisor
Office of Minority Health
1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600
Tower Oaks Building
Rockville, MD 20852
Phone: 240-453-6164
Email: Nicole.Dickelson@hhs.gov

Alternate:
Jacqueline Rodrigue
Deputy Director
Office of Minority Health
1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600
Tower Oaks Building
Rockville, MD 20852
Phone: 240-453-2882
Email: Jacqueline.Rodrigue@hhs.gov

Office of Population Affairs (OPA)

Marilyn J. Keefe
Deputy Assistant Secretary for Population Affairs (DASPA)
1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 700
Tower Oaks Building
Rockville, MD 20852
Phone: 240-453-2805
Main Phone: 240-453-2800
Fax: 240-456-2801
Email: Marilyn.Keefe@hhs.gov

Alternate:
Sima Michaels Dembo, M.P.H.
Senior Advisor to the DASPA
1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 700
Tower Oaks Building
Rockville, MD 20852
Phone: 240-453-2838
Fax: 240-453-2801
Email: SimaMichaels.Dembo@hhs.gov

Office of the U.S. Surgeon General

Dawn Alley, Ph.D.
Senior Policy Advisor
Hubert Humphrey Building, Room 729G
200 Independence Avenue, SW
Washington, DC 2201
Phone: 202-205-9491
Fax: 202-260-4405
Email: Dawn.Alley@hhs.gov

Lesley M. Russell, Ph.D.
Senior Public Health Advisor for Outreach and Policy
Hubert Humphrey Building, Room 729G.3
200 Independence Avenue, SW
Washington, DC 20201
Phone: 202-401-9586
Fax: 202-360-8855
Email: Lesley.Russell@hhs.gov

Alternate:
Mary Beth Bigley, Dr.P.H., M.S.N., A.N.P.
Acting Director, Office of Science and Communications
Hubert Humphrey Building, Room 701H
200 Independence Avenue, SW
Washington, DC 20201
Phone: 202-205-5642
Fax: 202-360-8855
Email: Marybeth.Bigley@hhs.gov

Office on Women's Health (OWH)

Hubert Humphrey Building
200 Independence Ave., S.W., Room 712-E
Washington, DC 20201
Main Phone: 202-690-7650

Frances E. Ashe-Goins, R.N., M.P.H.
Deputy Director
Office on Women's Health, Room 728-E
Phone: 202-690-6373
Fax: 202-401-4005
Email: Frances.Ashe-Goins@hhs.gov

Suzanne Haynes, Ph.D.
Senior Science Advisor
Office on Women’s Health
Phone: 202-205-2623
Fax: 202-260-6537
Email: Suzanne.Haynes@hhs.gov

Barbara F. James, M.P.H.
Director, Division of Program Coordination
Office on Women's Health, Room 728-E
Phone: 202-205-2551
Fax: 202-260-6537
Email: Barbara.James@hhs.gov

Valerie Borden, M.P.A.
Director, Division of Outreach and Collaboration
Office on Women's Health, Room 719-E
Phone: 202-205-0270
Fax: 202-205-2631
Email: Valerie.Borden@hhs.gov

Ledia I. Martínez, M.D., M.P.H.
Regional Women's Health Liaison
Office on Women's Health, Room 728-E
Phone: 202-205-1960
Fax: 202-401-4005
Email: Ledia.Martinez@hhs.gov

Barbara B, Disckind
Senior Writer
Office on Women’s Health
Phone: 202-260-2836
Fax: 202-260-6537
Email: Barbara.Disckind@hhs.go

Caira M. Woods, Ph.D.
Advisor for Health and Science Policy
Office on Women’s Health
Phone: 202-401-9545
Fax: 202-401-4005
Email: Caira.Woods@hhs.gov

Mary E. Worstell, M.P.H.
Senior Advisor to the Director
Office on Women's Health
Phone: 202-690-7761
Fax: 202-401-4005
Email: Mary.Worstell@hhs.gov

Regional Women's Health Office

Renée Bouvion, M.P.H.
Regional Women's Health Coordinator, Region 10
701 Fifth Avenue Suite 1600
Rm 1630, MS 20
Seattle, WA 98104
Phone: 206-615-3667
Fax: 206-615-2481
Email: Renee.Bouvion@hhs.gov

President's Council on Fitness, Sports and Nutrition (PCFSN)

Shellie Pfohl, M.S.
Executive Director
1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 560
Tower Oaks Building
Rockville, MD 20852
Phone: 240-276-9826
Fax: 202-690-5211
Email: Shellie.Pfohl@hhs.gov

Alternate:
Lauren Darensbourg
Technical Information Specialist
1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 560
Tower Oaks Building
Rockville, MD 20852
Phone: 240-276-9871
Fax: 202-690-5211
Email: Lauren.Darensbourg@hhs.gov

Return to top

Office of the Secretary (OS)

Office of the Assistant Secretary for Financial Resources (ASFR)

Greta T. Davis, M.A.
Budget Analyst
Division of Budget Policy, Execution & Review
200 Independence Avenue, SW, Room 529-G.28
Hubert Humphrey Building
Washington, DC 20201
Phone: 202-690-6405
Main Phone: 202-690-6396
Fax: 202-690-6896
Email: Greta.Davis@hhs.gov

Office of the Assistant Secretary for Legislation (ASL)

Averi Pakulis
Special Assistant
Hubert Humphrey Building
200 Independence Avenue, SW, Room 406-G.3
Washington, DC 20201
Phone: (202) 690-7627
Email: Averi.Pakulis@hhs.gov

Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation (ASPE)

Adelle Simmons, M.P.A.
Senior Health Policy Analyst
Office of Health Policy
Division of Public Health Systems
200 Independence Avenue, SW, Room 447-D
Hubert Humphrey Building
Washington, DC 20201
Phone: 202-205-8841
Main Phone: 202-690-5924
Fax: 202-260-2524
Email: Adelle.Simmons@hhs.gov

Alternate:
Madeleine de Boinville
Social Science Analyst
Office of Human Services Policy
U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services
200 Independence Ave SW, Room 422F.6
Washington, DC 20201
Phone: 202-260-0382
Fax: 202-690-6562
Email: Madeleine.deBoinville@hhs.gov

Office on Disability (OD)

200 Independence Avenue, SW, Room 637-D
Hubert Humphrey Building
Washington, DC 20201
Phone: 202-205-1104
Fax: 202-260-3053
Email: Rosaly.Correa@hhs.gov

Office of External Affairs (OEA)

AJ Pearlman
External Outreach
200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 630-F
Hubert Humphrey Building
Washington, D.C. 20201
Phone: 202-260-6138
Fax: 202-205-2727
Email: AJ.Pearlman@hhs.gov

Office of Global Affairs (OGA)

Maeve McKean
Senior Advisor to the Director
200 Independence Ave, SW, Room 636-G
Hubert Humphrey Building
Washington, DC 20201
Phone: 202-260-6020
Fax: 202-690-6174
Email: Maeve.McKean@hhs.gov

Office of Intergovernmental Affairs (OIA)

Agnes H. Donahue, D.D.S., M.S.D., M.P.H.
Special Assistant to the Director
200 Independence Avenue, SW, Room 730-E
Hubert Humphrey Building
Washington, DC 20201
Phone: 202-260-5219
Main Phone: 202-690-6060
Fax: 202-205-2107
Email: Agnes.Donahue@hhs.gov

Return to top

Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) Agencies

Administration on Community Living (ACL)

Dianne A. Freeman, M.A.
Aging Services Program Specialist
Center for Program Operations
Office of Outreach and Consumer Information
1 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Room 5405
Washington, DC 20001
Phone: 202-357-3536
Main Phone: 202-401-4634
Fax: 202-357-3549
Email: Dianne.Freeman@aoa.hhs.gov

Administration for Children and Families (ACF)

Marylouise Kelley, Ph.D.
Director
Family Violence Prevention & Services Program
Family and Youth Services Bureau
1250 Maryland Avenue, SW, Suite 8216
Washington, DC 20024
Phone: 202-401-5756
Fax: 202-401-7038
Email: Marylouise.Kelley@acf.hhs.gov

Alternate:
Laura Hoard, Ph.D.
Social Science Research Analyst
Office of Planning, Research, and Evaluation
Aerospace Building, 7th Floor
901 D Street, SW
Washington, DC 20447
Phone: 202-401-4561
Fax: 202-205-3598
Email: Laura.Hoard@acf.hhs.gov

Shawndell Dawson
Senior Program Specialist
Family Violence Prevention & Services Program
Family and Youth Services Bureau
1250 Maryland Ave., SW 8th Floor
Washington, DC 20024
Phone: 202-205-1476
Email: Shawndell.Dawson@acf.hhs.gov

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

Beth A. Collins Sharp, Ph.D., R.N.
Senior Advisor for Women's Health and Gender Research
540 Gaither Road, Room 2115
Rockville, MD 20850
Phone: 301-427-1503
Fax: 301-427-1561
Email: Beth.CollinsSharp@ahrq.hhs.gov

Jennifer Moore, Ph.D., R.N.
Patient Centered Outcomes Research Service
Office of Extramural Research, Education and Priority Populations (OEREP)
540 Gaither Road, Room 2230
Rockville, MD 20850
Phone: 301-427-1394
Email: Jennifer.Moore@ahrq.hhs.gov

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Yvonne T. Green, R.N., C.N.M., M.S.N.
Director, Office of Women's Health
4770 Buford Highway, MS-E89
Atlanta, GA 30341
Phone: 770-488-8121
Main Phone: 770-488-8190
Fax: 770-488-8280
Email: Ytg1@cdc.gov

Alternate:
Diane Dennis-Stephens, M.P.H.
Health Disparities Officer
4770 Buford Highway, MS-E89
Atlanta, GA 30341
Phone: 770-488-8128
Fax: 770-488-8280
Email: Dbd8@cdc.gov

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS)

Toya Smith
Center for Medicaid and CHIP Services
7500 Security Boulevard
Mail Stop S2-14-26
Baltimore, MD 21244
Phone: 410-786-9499
Fax: 410-786-1845
Email: Toya.Smith@cms.hhs.gov

Food and Drug Administration (FDA)

Marsha B. Henderson, M.C.R.P.
Assistant Commissioner for Women’s Health
10903 New Hampshire Avenue
Building 32, Room 2322
Silver Spring, MD 20993
Phone: 301-796-9439
Fax: 301-847-8604
Email: Marsha.Hendersonl@fda.hhs.gov

Alternate:
Deborah Kallgren
Special Assistant to the FDA OWH Director
Phone: 301-796-9442
Fax: 301-847-8604
Email: Deborah.Kallgren@fda.hhs.gov

Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)

Sabrina Matoff-Stepp, Ph.D.
Director, Office of Women's Health
5600 Fishers Lane, Room 13-45
Parklawn Building
Rockville, MD 20857
Phone: 301-443-8664
Fax: 301-443-8587
Email: SMatoff-Stepp@hrsa.gov

CDR Morrisa B. Rice, M.H.A.
Senior Public Health Analyst
Office of Women's Health
5600 Fishers Lane, Room 13-45
Parklawn Building
Rockville, MD 20857
Phone: 301-443-6838
Fax: 301-443-8587
Email: MRice@hrsa.gov

Indian Health Service (IHS)

CAPT Carolyn Aoyama
Women's Health
Advanced Practice
801 Thompson Avenue, Suite 300
Rockville, MD 20852
Phone: 301-443-1492
Fax: 301-594-6135
Email: Carolyn.Aoyama@ihs.gov

National Institutes of Health (NIH)

Janine Austin Clayton, M.D.
Acting Director
Office of Research on Women's Health (ORWH)
6707 Democracy Blvd.
Suite 400 MSC 5484
Bethesda, MD 20892
(FedEx-Bethesda, MD 20817)
Phone: 301-402-1770
Fax: 301-402-0005
Email: Smithja2@od.nih.gov

Co-Alternate:
Charles A. Wells, Ph.D.
Senior Advisor to the Director
Phone: 301-402-1770
Fax: 301-402-0005
Email: Wellsc@od.nih.gov

Alternate:
Lisa Begg, Dr.PH., R.N.
Director, Research Programs
Office of Research on Women’s Health
6707 Democracy Boulevard, Ste 400
Bethesda, MD 20892
Phone: 301-496-7853
Email: beggl@od.nih.gov

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)

Sharon Amatetti, M.P.H.
Senior Public Health Analyst
SAMHSA Women's Issues Coordinator
Center for Substance Abuse Treatment
1 Choke Cherry Rd, Room 5-1079
Rockville, MD 20857
Phone: 240-276-1694
Fax: 240-276-1690
Email: Sharon.Amatetti@samhsa.hhs.gov

Alternate:
Mary M. McCann, L.C.S.W., C.A.C. III
SAMHSA State Project Officer
Center for Substance Abuse Treatment
1 Choke Cherry Rd, Room 5-1080
Rockville, MD 20857
Phone: 240-276-1758
Fax: 240-276-2830
Email: Mary.Mccann@samhsa.hhs.gov

Alternate:
Sara Afayee, M.S.W.
Public Health Advisor/Presidential Management Fellow
SAMHSA
1 Choke Cherry Rd, 6th Floor
Rockville, MD 20857
Phone: 240-276-2823
Email: Sara.Afayee@samhsa.hhs.gov

Content last updated March 14, 2013.

Resources last updated May 20, 2013.

Return to top